Holy Days


Holy days of obligation are feast days on which Catholics are required to attend Mass and to avoid (to the extent that they are able) servile work. The observance of Holy Days of Obligation is part of the Sunday Duty, the first of the Precepts of the Church. There are currently ten Holy Days of Obligation in the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church; in the United States, only six Holy Days of Obligation are observed. 

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

  1. January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God
  2. Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter, the solemnity of the Ascension - in the Archdiocese of Cincinnati this Holy Day of Obligation is transferred to Sunday, May 8, 2016
  3. August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  4. November 1, the solemnity of All Saints
  5. December 8, the solemnity of the Immaculate Conception
  6. December 25, the solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ 




Feasts of Jesus Christ

Feast Days

Marian Feast Days

In 2016, the Holy Days of Obligation are All Saints Day (November 1) and Immaculate Conception (December 8). All other Holy days fall on or are transfered to the Sunday. 

Holy Day Mass Schedule: Vigil Mass at 4:30pm, 8:30am, and 7:00pm